1. Skip to Menu
  2. Skip to Content
  3. Skip to Footer



EMBO Council is the governing body of EMBO, responsible for ensuring the development of the organization. It consists of 15 members who serve for a period of three years and who may be reelected for one additional term of office.


EMBO Council Members 2016

Elected terms of office
Name Country
2011-2013, 2014-2016 Geneviève Almouzni (Vice Chair) FR-Paris
2016-2018 Karen B. Avraham IL-Tel Aviv
2014-2016 Victor de Lorenzo ES-Madrid
2012-2014, 2015-2017 Caroline Dean UK-Norwich
2012-2014, 2015-2017 Denis Duboule CH-Geneva
2013-2015, 2016-2018 Anne Ephrussi DE-Heidelberg
2015-2017 Carl-Henrik Heldin (Chair) SE-Uppsala
2014-2016 Regine Kahmann DE-Marburg
2015-2017 Jürgen Knoblich AT-Vienna
2016-2018 László Nagy HU-Debrecen
2011-2013, 2014-2016 Mart Saarma FI-Helsinki
2013-2015, 2016-2018 Paul Schulze-Lefert DE-Cologne
2016-2018 Titia Sixma NL-Amsterdam
2011-2013, 2014-2016 Dimitris Thanos GR-Athens
2015-2017 Karen Vousden UK-Glasgow


Ex officio Council Member

Maria Leptin Director, EMBO



Paul Nurse Secretary General, EMBO
Gerrit van Meer President, EMBC
Patrick Cramer Secretary General, EMBC
Iain Mattaj Director General, EMBL
Jane Langdale Chair, EMBO Membership Committee
Gisou van der Goot Chair, EMBO Young Investigator Committee
Frank Uhlmann Chair, EMBO Course Committee
Sarah Bray Chair, EMBO Fellowship Committee
Reinhard Jahn Chair, EMBL SAC

Carl-Henrik Heldin

Carl-Henrik Heldin
Chair of the EMBO Council
EMBO Member since 1989


Gitta BourkeGitta Bourke
Administrator EMBO Council & EMBC
T. + 49 6221 8891 117
This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.